Artadia has active awards programs in the following cities: Atlanta, Chicago, Houston, Los Angeles, New York, and San Francisco. Awards are granted in participating cities on a rotating basis. Artadia Awards are $10,000 and are unrestricted: The award money can be used however the artist sees fit.

Artadia chooses to fund artists in cities that demonstrate a commitment to contemporary art. These cities are notable for:

    •    The active presence of local artists in the community.
   •    Art institutions recognized for innovative contemporary programming.
   •    A commercial art market that offers artists opportunities to show their work locally and at art fairs.
   •    Exemplary schools that prepare artists through undergraduate and graduate programs.

*The Los Angeles Awards cycle includes a third award, a $25,000 unrestricted grant. 

Artadia is now accepting applications for the 2020 Houston Awards from all visual artists who have lived and worked within Harris County for a minimum of two years. Individual artists and collaboratives working in all visual media and at any stage in their career are strongly encouraged to apply. Awardees will be selected through a two-tier jury process that employs a panel of curators who are experts in their field. This is the eleventh Houston Awards cycle.

November 1, 2020
11:59 PM CDT  

To be eligible to apply for the 2020 Houston Artadia Awards, artists must fulfill the following requirements:

  • Be a contemporary visual artist (making artwork for presentation in a contemporary art context: museum, galleries, arts non-profit, the public art realm, etc. Artadia does not fund filmmakers making films for distribution in cinematic venues).
  • Live and work within Harris County
  • Have resided within Harris County for a minimum of two years. 
  • Not currently be enrolled in an art-related degree program.
  • Not be related to Artadia staff or directors in any way.
  • Have not previously received an Artadia Award from The Art Council in the past. 

Artadia is committed to equity, diversity, inclusion and believes in fostering mutual respect for the diverse beliefs of all individuals and groups.

While we welcome applications from artists at all stages of their practice, Artadia Awardees demonstrate a high level of artistic merit, maintain a rigorous practice and have a clear artistic voice.  

Previous jurors have recommended that artists submit work that has been created within the past three years. Though you may submit more than one slide of the same artwork, we recommend that you provide a representative sample of the breadth of your creative work. Video submissions are limited to video art, animation, and performance documentation. Feature length commercial films and documentaries, music videos, and commercial music projects are not eligible.    

Video submissions are limited to video art, animation, and performance documentation. Feature-length commercial films and documentaries, music videos, and commercial music projects are not eligible. Please do not send documentation of sculpture or other works as video. If time-based media is not your primary medium, do not use this option.


Artadia employs a rigorous two-tier jury process that combines local expertise with outside perspective from leading national curators. A preliminary panel evaluates all submissions and selects five Award Finalists. A second panel of two curators based in the Award city will conduct virtual studio visits with the five Finalists. Of the Finalists, the jurors will designate two Awardees to receive unrestricted funds of $10,000.

October 1 - November 1: Application open
Late November: Finalists notified
Early December: Virtual studio visits with Finalists
January 2021: Houston Awardees announced

Fill out the application below to have your work considered for the 2020 Houston Artadia Awards.

We recommend that you finish the application two days prior to the deadline. We will not be able to answer questions submitted after 5:00 pm CDT October 30th, or accept late applications. Please allow yourself 48 hours to upload images and video. Incomplete or late applications will not be considered.

Please direct any questions to with the subject line "2020 Houston Awards Application". We will answer your questions as soon as possible. NO PHONE CALLS PLEASE.